Skip to content

Finalists Announced for National Book Awards

October 13, 2011

Update — Shine, by Lauren Myracle, was removed from the list of nominees.  Chime, by Franny Billingsley, was added to the category.  Both books were listed in the Young Peoples Literature category.  For the announcement by the National Book Foundation, click here.  According to the lists of banned books compiled by the American Library Association, Lauren Myracle is frequently included as one of the most challenged authors for school and public libraries.  For information about ALA’s banned books, click here.

Finalists for the 2011 National Book Award were announced yesterday by the National Book Foundation.   The awards are given by writers to writers to recognize literary excellence.  First awarded in 1950, joint sponsors of the awards were the American Publishers’ Council, the Book Manufacturing Association and the American Booksellers Association. 

Awards are given in four categories: Fiction, Non-fiction, Poetry and Young People’s Literature.  For a list of the finalists and more information about the awards, click here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: