Skip to content

National Film Registry

December 17, 2014

The National Film Registry of the Library of Congress announced titles added to its registry of films for 2014.  Twenty-five films are added each year to increase awareness of the Registry’s efforts to preserve film.  Films are selected for their cultural, historical or aesthetic significance; films must have been released at least 10 years prior to inclusion on the list.

The Registry includes a diverse list of narrative features (including blockbusters as well as silent films), animated features, and documentaries – including Bullitt (1968), In the Heat of the Night (1967), Mr. Smith Goes to Washington (1939), and Tacoma Narrows Bridge Collapse (1940).  Some of the law related titles include 12 Angry Men (1957), Adam’s Rib (1949), Anatomy of  Murder (1959), Judgment at Nuremberg (1961), To Kill a Mockingbird Bird (1962) , and Young Mr. Lincoln (1939).

Other lists of law-related feature films include the ABA Journal’s The 25 Greatest Legal Movies and IMDb:  Law Related Films.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: